Goozle Turned 2 and other fun stuff

August 26, 2007 at 4:56 am 14 comments

Warning: This is a super long post with lots of pictures!

First, the contest winners!

Kate and Surviving won llama fiber!

Carly won a mug of Tequila Sunrise:
yarn 047yarn 046

Elaine won a Cherry Swirl Yarncream Cone:
yarn 045
More yarn-y treats will be uploaded to my etsy shop–Yarndulgent. There’s only one thing on there so far. It’s actually been raining for the past week, so I haven’t been able to dye any yarn. And the kids have been sick and not sleeping well, so I haven’t been able to put together any packages. I’ll also be adding non-animal yarn treats and patterns to make complete kits, so check back often.

Last Friday was Goozle’s second birthday! I can’t believe he’s 2 already. We went to the zoo in Madison for his birthday. Of course, I forgot my camera for that part. He didn’t really care about the animals, but he liked walking around, and he got to play on the playground after a 3 hour car ride. As always, I got lost on the way there. N and I were weighing out the pros and cons of possibly moving to Madison. Consistently getting lost-con.
My dad and V threw quite the little birthday bash for Goozle.
r14
r21
He got some books, some puzzles (which I already had to take away) and a truck that makes lots of noise. (We found the on/off switch!)
On Saturday, N and I went to the Packer game! Of course, being August, we didn’t pack warm clothes, so we had to stop and pick some up.
006_21
It rained for most of the game. We were soaked by the end, but it was a lot of fun.
012_15
I got to drink $13 worth of beer (2) from a plastic cup and ate a jumbo brat. Definitely didn’t need that.
Since the last time I blogged, I got three more postcards from my KVVS partner. They’re from Newfoundland and Prince Edward Island. I’ve wanted to visit Prince Edward Island since I read the Anne of Green Gables books.
I also got this from my secret pal:
yarn 043
Stitch markers, yarn gauge, little containers for them both and a Yarntainer filled with pretty blue yarn! I love it! A Yarntainer, that’s genius. Now I can knit without Girly taking my yarn. Thanks secret pal!
I also got another yarn-y package in the mail, out of the blue:
yarn 044
A while back Michele said she’d send me some yen for the kitty. I completely forgot about it, so this was a nice surprise. Even better, she also send me more Japanese stuff: Kureyon and a little tissue pocket. What a nice package; knitters are so nice!
I think that is enough for one post!

Entry filed under: contest, family, knitting, stash, swaps.

Lots of Stuff Wednesday Already?

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lisa  |  August 26, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    Very nice! I watched a bit of that game and saw everybody drag out their ponchos…

    Reply
  • 2. mom  |  August 26, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    Looks like an excellent week or so, good for you guys and glad you enjoyed your anniversary getaway! ( : Love your yarn food and drinks, ha ha V really likes the yarn-cone! Went through Mayville but not when the shop was open. Kids are like a time warp in process, seems so long to get big, but look back and it is so fast, enjoy now! love ya The WI Sheep & Wool Festival is Sept 7-9 in Jefferson Fair Park. http://www.wisconsinsheepandwoolfestival.com
    ps, your hair looks really nice!

    Reply
  • 3. schrodinger  |  August 27, 2007 at 1:59 am

    I love the ice-cream cone!!!

    Reply
  • 4. knittymama  |  August 27, 2007 at 7:17 am

    Wow, he’s two!!! Happy Birthday little guy!!!

    I’m majorly jealous you got to go to a Packer game:-)

    Reply
  • 5. k  |  August 27, 2007 at 8:36 am

    I really like the ice cream cone, and the sunrise.

    Reply
  • 6. speckle  |  August 27, 2007 at 9:02 am

    That yarn cone is soooooo funny!!!

    Reply
  • 7. kvvs spoiler  |  August 27, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    pleased to hear that the postcards have been arriving… the package is STILL en route. actually, the tracking system says that its still here in ???, but its been saying that for almost 2 weeks! i may have to go downstairs and speak sternly to the “posties” – wait – maybe that’s dangerous… ; )
    looks like goozle had a great birthday. they grow up so quickly.

    Reply
  • 8. kashifalvi  |  August 27, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    hahahah i first though that yarn cream cone was a head of an African women. funny stuff.
    Reading such post makes you wanna have fun all the time.
    thank you.

    Reply
  • 9. knitphomaniac  |  August 28, 2007 at 3:24 am

    wow, I love your yarn! funky!

    Reply
  • 10. Lynda  |  August 28, 2007 at 4:57 am

    Are you going to the Sheep and Wool thing? I am not taking a class this year but will go and spend the day hanging out on Saturday. I will be in and out of Susan’s Fiber Shop booth so maybe we will see you there??Michele gave me one of those Japanese kleenex things too! How cool is that?
    Lynda

    Reply
  • 11. Surviving  |  August 30, 2007 at 1:10 am

    The ice cream cone is cute!!!

    With 3 boys I know all about the on/off switch. At this point I try and avoid things with batteries, which doesn’t always work. Just in case I just don’t stock batteries in the house so when they run out I can’t replace them, lol.

    Reply
  • 12. Elaine  |  August 31, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    I can’t believe I’m the lucky winner of the ultra-fun ice cream cone! A way to indulge in my 2 favorite things (ice cream and yarn) with no caloric woes.

    Thanks again and lots of luck with the etsy shop!

    Reply
  • 13. Sharon  |  September 2, 2007 at 8:40 am

    I LOVE The yarn pictures!!!

    Happy 2nd birthday!! Ph my they grow up way too fast! You think I can get one of those cars for my birthday? It’s next month πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 14. Anne  |  September 2, 2007 at 1:27 pm

    Okay, totally cute way to sell yarn – I’ll be in your shop soon for some stuff, no doubt! I love the idea πŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2007
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 65,403 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Feeds