I can dream

September 15, 2008 at 5:59 pm 2 comments

I had a dream last night that I was knitting. And, I actually finished projects! I had a baby blanket knit out of purple yarn that I inherited from my grandma in some kind of lily of the valley lace pattern. I also knit a sweater. It wouldn’t have been a strange dream, if I wasn’t finishing such large projects.

I love this time of year. I love the weather. There’s football to watch, and it’s apple season! I wanted apples yesterday, but it’s just not the same going apple shopping without my sister. Doesn’t that sound sentimental like we went and picked apples off of trees together? Here’s what we actually would do. There’s an apple orchard outside of Waupun. We would get a big bag of apples, a couple of caramel apples, apple turnovers, and a jug of apple cider. Then we’d proceed to eat all of that (except the big bag of apples) on the way home. There’s a precious memory for you! πŸ™‚

There’s also a couple of my favorite local festivals coming up. Oktoberfest in Chippewa Falls is next weekend. As someone with a German degree, I feel strongly that I should attend. It’s a small Oktoberfest, but there’s good food and good beer, and a small chance I can practice my language. And seriously, in case you’re wondering why Oktoberfest is in September, it’s because September has better drinking weather. I have a German degree; I learned this! September 20 is International Fall Fest on Barstow St. There’s lots of people and food and vendors, and best of all, Yellow Dog does some demos and sets up some tables for knitting outside. I went last year, and it was a lot of fun. And I still didn’t finish the project I started. Maybe I’ll take that with.

Speaking of Yellow Dog, I’m linking to their (pdf) newsletter. Thursday September 18, there’s the “opening” of the Scarves for Cancer Patients drive. They get yarn donated to them for people to knit scarves, hats, etc. for cancer patients. Now that’s actually a project I finished!

Here’s another project I finished last week:
IMG_0477
It’s from the yarn I got from Lindsey from the hand dyed yarn swap. I’m going to try to be one of those trendy, scarf-wearing people now πŸ™‚

Entry filed under: knitting, local events, swaps.

No More Humdrum Mittens Swap 3 Is Start-itus Contagious?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bubblesknits  |  September 16, 2008 at 2:06 am

    It was actually in the upper 70’s here today. I can’t even begin to tell you how refreshing it was!

    Reply
  • 2. K  |  September 17, 2008 at 6:34 am

    Yes, I do miss the apple trips : (

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 65,412 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Feeds