What I learned about Frogs

December 14, 2007 at 7:16 am 4 comments

I learn stuff at the weirdest places.  Today at work, I had to place a service call on a machine.  It’s pretty much a daily occurrence.   Anyway, after being on hold for nearly an eternity, I got to chatting with the woman who took my call.  As it turned out, she was French Canadian.  She told me that French Canadians are called Frogs.  It’s ok for French Canadians to call themselves Frogs or other French Canadians Frogs, but it is an insult if a non-French Canadian calls a French Canadian a Frog.  I had no idea.

On the knitting front:  N made a home for my yarn.  Then I picked on him for loving yarn.  I’ve started on sleeve #2 of Goozle’s sweater, and I’m bound and determined to finish my mittens by the deadline!  I knit a hat out of some of my hand-dyed yarn that is so cute, but my kids outgrew it!  It’s gender-neutral if anyone wants a baby hat.  And, I still don’t have a camera.  Well, I have a film camera, and first I have to finish the roll.  Then tons of pics.

Entry filed under: knitting, stash, swaps.

Happy St. Nicholas Day Enough cookies to make up for last year

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ponyknit  |  December 14, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    Hahaha yes, I’m a Frog and I knew about that one. Strange, yes, but it is common around here.

    Reply
  • 2. mom  |  December 14, 2007 at 9:44 pm

    I read that talking French, like for school, is frog, but isn’t that funny? Isn’t it a button too? Camera is cold and in mail yesterday, yes, really! ( ; Sparks are prob flying from the knitting needle tips with the rush to get done, ha ha

    Reply
  • 3. Bubblesknits  |  December 14, 2007 at 10:55 pm

    Huh…I’d never heard that. Learn something new everyday. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. lisa  |  December 17, 2007 at 2:08 am

    Pretty much everybody in New England (well, Mass, NH, and Maine anyhow) know this. Especially if you (like me) have a french name! I know two ends of a personality spectrum, call it a stereotype. #1 is hardworking and anally neat. #2 is my dad’s complaint about lazy french framers, but maybe that’s just his construction crew. Our city forester couldn’t get anybody in the more french part of the city to accept a tree. I told her it’s because they’re french… she didn’t get it. Until I explained about anal neatness, and trees drop messy leaves.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 62,882 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Feeds


