Happy St. Nicholas Day

December 7, 2007 at 7:43 am 4 comments

 

What?  You don’t celebrate St. Nicholas Day?  You leave your shoes out, and St. Nicholas will put gifts in them.  Kind of like stockings but more fun.  Unless you’re bad, then you get a stick.  We didn’t celebrate St. Nicholas Day when we were kids, but after we all took German in high school, my dad sometimes sends us little things.  Mostly candy.Anyway, I scrapped my last Debbie Downer post, since I’m in a much better mood today (or this week).  Mostly because it’s almost the weekend, it’s pay day, and the busy season of continuing education manuals is almost over.  Unfortunately, my cameras aren’t working, I flaked out on my downstream pals, and the ignition locked up on the car.  We looked it up on the internet; apparently, it’s a problem with Ford Focuses between 2000-2003.Meanwhile, I got 3 boxes from swap pals.  I will get a camera soon and thank them properly.  So, stay tuned for boxes of yarn, coffee, candy, and other goodies.

Entry filed under: family, knitting, stash, swaps.

Me+Organization What I learned about Frogs

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cathy-Cate  |  December 7, 2007 at 8:36 am

    And the good news! It’s snowing! (Looks better than gray and brown. Especially for Christmas.)
    The bad news! It’s snowing again!! (More shoveling! And will I be able to get my little Saturn out of the alley? Or back in?)

    Hope you get the car fixed fairly easily. (An old friend of mine used to say that cars were tools of the devil. I’m not quite that severe, but they always seem to be requiring expensive repairs at inconvenient intervals.)

    My Preteen is taking German; I should go right now and wish her a happy Saint Nicholas Day. (She did just have to put Saint Nikolaus on a Christmas collage, along with his companion Knecht Ruprecht, whom I had NOT heard of!) He’s pretty scary. Don’t be naughty!

    Don’t worry about downstream (though I am kind of literally downstream from you, aren’t I? Ha!).

    Reply
  • 2. coveredinyarn  |  December 7, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    I hope there’s gobs of yarn in your shoes!

    Reply
  • 3. mom  |  December 7, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    You should have knit a huge Christmas gaudy sock! I didn’t understand how the tradition started. I’m wrapping Goozle’s box and will send patterns for the knit ornaments and santa with it. It would be fun to make one of those wicked old santa helpers to put with him, usually pictures show him slinking around Santa’s robe hem. Fun Mail!!! no fair, I write more exam papers….boo. Maybe yarn on the 19-20?

    Reply
  • 4. knitturtle  |  December 8, 2007 at 4:33 am

    Hi Secret pal! I’ve been keeping up with your blog, and it sounds like you’re a busy bee pretty much all the time!

    I had a good time being your pal, and I’m glad you were please with the gifts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 63,031 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Feeds


