Beauty knows no pain *sob*

November 12, 2007 at 1:33 am 8 comments

Please learn from my mistakes.  I hate shaving.  I’m a sucker for anything that claims to eliminate the need for shaving as often.  I’ve tried waxes and sugaring.  For some reason, both tear off the top layer of my skin and leave the hair behind.  My sister even gave it a shot, and she’s a trained professional.  So, when one of those hair removal creams with the fake razor that’s basically a squeegie was on sale for something like $3, I thought I’d give it a try.  I followed the directions, but I missed one important warning.  Something about trying it on a small area first to see if it causes allergic reaction.  If I had seen it before hand, I probably would have ignored it anyway.  So my legs are now hair-free.  Unfortunately, they are also covered in a red, bumpy, blistery rash.  Oh so attractive.  I guess I’ll have to stick to shaving.

In yarn news, I bought the rest of the yarn to send to my secret pal, and it’s all I can do to not keep it for myself.  And I’m also on a llama for Malabrigo swapping spree on ravelry.  They’re getting more Malabrigo in at the yarn store, too!  I love Malabrigo.

N also told me I have to knit all the yarn I have before buying more, because it is taking over the house.  Takes a lot to make him mad, but he was kind of pissed about that.

Entry filed under: family, health, knitting, stash, swaps.

tu-tu and Tut Me+Organization

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mom  |  November 12, 2007 at 12:18 pm

    maybe you can rent a storage shed, don’t they have little ones too?
    (sorry a little giggle came out…) Maybe you can do a little modern art mobile thing and hang a couple bright skeins from the ceiling! ow with the rash!

    Reply
  • 2. ponyknit  |  November 13, 2007 at 2:15 am

    mmmm malabrigo!
    I had that rash on my face… just imagine. It started with a little rash that faded overnight, then with each use it got increasingly worse, until I had a huge nasty rash that took a few days to go down. Yeah.. I don’t use it anymore.

    Reply
  • 3. geckogrrl  |  November 13, 2007 at 2:15 am

    Ouch! During the winter I just don’t shave (which is a hairy option, granted, but works well enough…)

    Have you seen that product that lifts your bed up higher? (4 different things you put under each bed post). Maybe doing that can give you some additional storage space…

    Reply
  • 4. mom  |  November 13, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    If you could find a big flat topped plastic garbage container (bigger ones) stuff your yarn and projects in there, esp. ones you aren’t doing more than petting or looking at the pretty colors, cover it with round table cloth in the corner between coach and chair, could even put books, lamp, ect. on it. I have considered it myself. Remember the Yarn Harlot stuffing yarn skeins into hanging clothing arms to hide it?

    Reply
  • 5. lisa  |  November 14, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    I have an old industrial cardboard container (with metal top and bottom, like a can, it held whey) that I store winter hats/etc in… it gets covered with fabric and a glass topper and is a table in a spare room… maybe you can find something like that? Sucks about the rash. I tried one of those a few years ago (not having seen them since I was a teenager), and the smell just about knocked me dead! Secrets of shaving? Sharp razor! So I use disposables and trash them quickly, because I don’t shave my legs all that often. And a dull razor gives you a nasty bumpy effect too!

    Reply
  • 6. mom  |  November 17, 2007 at 11:21 pm

    Hey! finished my scarf, now P wants one!!! Will try it out next week.

    Reply
  • 7. coveredinyarn  |  November 21, 2007 at 3:03 am

    BEST SP EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You’re all kinds of awesome! Thank you so much for being over the top sweet to me! I hope that you’re SP was as amazing to you as you were to me! I don’t blame you for wanting to keep this stuff, it is BEAUTIFUL! Thank you soooooo much!

    You know that I love Malabrigo too!
    “Will trade children for Malabrigo” lol! YAY! SERIOUSLY you’re AWESOME!

    Carrie

    Reply
  • 8. Cathy-Cate  |  November 21, 2007 at 3:09 am

    If you buy yarn for a swap, then it’s not for you! (Even if some of it decides to stay with you instead of going out into the big wide world.
    And if someone gives you yarn in a swap, then you didn’t buy it!
    Umm; I’m totally with you with the annoyed spouse thing. Except mine is not naturally mellow, so I take it in stride, but he’s getting pretty vehement.
    Hope your legs stop looking like the surface of Mars VERY soon. Never again!
    (I hate shaving too. In winter, in the Frozen North, we need a little leg hair for warmth, don’t we?)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 63,031 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Feeds


