Conforming

October 12, 2007 at 5:18 pm 8 comments

Well, it’s official.  I’m conforming.  I’ve threatened in the past, but I’ve finally followed through.  First, we bought a mini van.  It’s a 2003 Ford Windstar–loaded.  We got a great deal on it.  I do admit that it is nice for the kids and stuff, but I still prefer driving the Focus.  I will be starting working days at the end of the month.  I will no longer be nocturnal on the weekends.  This is good, because without sleep I am not a very pleasant person to live with.  Poor N.  Working days means that I have to find day care for the kids.  Yeah, that might entail finding 2 more jobs just to pay for it.  It would end up saving money if I didn’t work and stayed home with the kids.  Unfortunately, I hate staying home, and my kids would make me absolutely insane if I did that.  I got rid of the cloth diapers.  Isn’t that a step in the easy direction?  I don’t think so really, because disposable diapers stink up my house and add 2 extra bags of garbage of week, but my dryer is broken, the sun won’t come out for any significant amount of time, and I’ve only made it to the laundry mat every 2 weeks.  Two weeks is too long for cloth diapers to sit around!  Lastly, I quit breastfeeding.  That was not my choice, but without going into detail, Girly has very sharp teeth.  I don’t understand the convenience of formula argument as it requires more dishes and actually getting out of bed in the middle of the night to mix up a bottle.  I’ve been quite an insomniac lately, so every time I wake up, I’m  up.

*sigh*  I’m feeling very frustrated and out of my element since I am making several changes all at once.

Entry filed under: family.

No More Humdrum Mittens I don’t like albino squirrels

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mom  |  October 12, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    Hang in there, sometimes I have found having everything hit the fan at once means you don’t have time to overfocus on any one thing. In the end, how much of it really matters? Will talk to the Arborist about his dryer, we will contact you later. Wheels are good, trash isn’t, ha ha. As long as the kids thrive and seem happy enough, you are doing good! ha ha
    Conforming is TOO hard isn’t it! ha ha, know the feeling, some people say it is because we are too stuborn…..hmmmm I seem to remember you are no morning person, stock up on good coffee, love ya.

    Reply
  • 2. geckogrrl  |  October 13, 2007 at 1:15 am

    It doesn’t seem like you are conforming too much – I mean a mini-van is convenient and at least it’s not an SUV (then you’d really be conforming…)

    I hope your new job gives you some rest. I totally understand about the child care/stay at home thing vs. working. If it weren’t for the fact that I’ve been freelancing for the past year and a half, I don’t think I’d be able to stay at home either (and even so, just job hunting these days and not working is driving me insane!).

    Hang in there!

    Reply
  • 3. Anne  |  October 14, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    Ouch, definitely sounds like you have a TON of change to be dealing with. Just try and still find a little window each day for just you – knitting, sipping coffee – anything to help you keep a bit of sanity. You can make it through this, I’m sure of it, but it’s certainly a challenging month!

    Reply
  • 4. Miss Me  |  October 15, 2007 at 8:04 pm

    wow – i guess i haven’t been over for a visit recently… missed a few things, but i’m catching up. i completely hear you about the working versus staying home. i love my kids, but having a stay at home lunatic is not really a viable option. and the breastfeeding… sometimes they decide or other factors do. i still miss nursing a baby. : (

    Reply
  • 5. lisa  |  October 16, 2007 at 5:54 am

    Wow, lots of changes, good luck with adjusting! I was with you about formula-what about it was easy?? Even though it’s been a (long) while, I sometimes dream about nursing new babies that come into my friends’ lives… even puppies once (a dream a dream!). Just think how relieved you’ll feel when you’re done and adjusted to these changes. You might wonder how you did it all the way you’ve been doing it…

    Reply
  • 6. knittymama  |  October 16, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    Oh, biting is such a pain, literally! Have you tried any of this stuff?

    http://www.kellymom.com/bf/older-baby/biting.html

    I went through a phase like that with Little Man but we did make it through okay. ‘Cause you’re right, formula is a pita. 🙂

    We may end up getting a mini-van too, although I really love my wagon.

    Reply
  • 7. mom  |  October 17, 2007 at 11:16 am

    Oh, ouch! I still remember getting nipped with those pretty pearl teeth… sorry, that was it for me, I do think it is such a unique bond between mother and baby, can’t trade that. PS. thinking about some cuffs for computer lab I can throw in my bag, hope nobody thinks I’m weird. They have a stiching group at UW O but its a day I am home-based.

    Reply
  • 8. myhobbyisyarn  |  October 19, 2007 at 8:48 am

    Thanks for the nice comments. It’s weird what you miss when it’s gone. Anyway, I have more free time now to do things like eat buffalo wings and drink beer and not do as much laundry 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2007
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 62,735 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Feeds


