Secret Pal 11

August 12, 2007 at 4:32 am 3 comments

I’m signed up for my first Secret Pal!  I’m getting hooked on swaps.  Here’s my questionnaire: 

1. What is/are your favorite yarn/s to knit with? What fibers do you absolutely *not* like?
I like soft wool and cotton.  I like pretty much everything.  I don’t like ribbon yarn.
2. What do you use to store your needles/hooks in?

Ha, ha, ha.  They’re in the bottom of the laundry baskets and plastic totes I store my yarn in.  I have a needle roll, but they keep falling out of it.  I’m organizationally challenged.

3. How long have you been knitting & how did you learn? Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced?

I’ve been knitting for almost 2 years.  I took a lot of lessons at the yarn store.  My skill level is adventurous!  I haven’t been knitting long, but I like challenges and learning new things.  I like to knit patterns labelled advanced, even though I haven’t been knitting very long.

4. Do you have an Amazon or other on-line wish list? no

5. What’s your favorite scent?  coffee 🙂  as far as lotion and stuff, I can’t do scents very well.  I did get some hand salve from a different swap that smells like calendula.  I like that.

6. Do you have a sweet tooth? Favorite candy? Yes, I’m currently on a coconut kick.  I also like candy bars with almonds. 7. What other crafts or Do-It-Yourself things do you like to do? Do you spin?  Yes, I spin.  I just started quilting, I dabble in sewing, and I dye yarn and do some beading

8. What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3s? (if your buddy wants to make you a CD)  I can use mp3, I like laid-back, girl music like Norah Jones.

9. What’s your favorite color(s)? Any colors you just can’t stand?  I like greens, purples and reds.  I like pretty much every color.

10. What is your family situation? Do you have any pets?  Married with 2 kids under 2, no pets.11. Do you wear scarves, hats, mittens or ponchos?  All except ponchos

12. What is/are your favorite item/s to knit?  Baby clothes!

13. What are you knitting right now? a dress for my daughter, a pair of fancy pants for a friend’s baby, 2 socks at the same time, and a mesh grocery bag.14. Do you like to receive handmade gifts? yes

15. Do you prefer straight or circular needles? Bamboo, aluminum, plastic?
Doesn’t matter, but I don’t like plastic needles–too bendy

16. Do you own a yarn winder and/or swift? no

17. How old is your oldest UFO?  A little over a year.  I don’t plan on finishing it either.18. What is your favorite holiday?  Easter

19. Is there anything that you collect?  postcards and yarn, of course

20. Any books, yarns, needles or patterns out there you are dying to get your hands on? What knitting magazine subscriptions do you have?
I recently found 3 books I really like: Runway Knits, Glamour Knits and Yarnplay.  I don’t have any knitting magazine subscriptions, because I only buy magazines if I like at least 3 patterns in them.  I always want to try new yarns!

21. Are there any new techniques you’d like to learn? Armenian knitting

22. Are you a sock knitter? What are your foot measurements?  not really a sock knitter.  I wear a US size 8 shoe.

23. When is your birthday?  February 3

24. Are you on Ravelry? If so, what’s your ID? yes, myhobbyisyarn

Entry filed under: knitting, swaps.

I like Monday Lots of Stuff

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mom  |  August 12, 2007 at 11:26 am

    Organizationally challenged! ha ha ha
    It’s storming so this is for you to check up on
    http://flicker.com/photos/moving hands/815141901/
    and /362408131/

    very cute stuff and right up your alley, reading the Yarn Harlot book, I missed out on the trucker parade!

    Reply
  • 2. mom  |  August 12, 2007 at 11:27 am

    oops, no space between movinghands

    Reply
  • 3. Sharon  |  August 15, 2007 at 12:32 am

    Addicted to swaps… hmm how did that happen? 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 63,031 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Feeds


