These kids!

July 14, 2007 at 2:01 am 14 comments

See this one?
July pics 012
And this one?
July pics 011
They’re on a joint mission to send me to the nut house! Today’s proud moment of parenting:
I took off Goozle’s diaper and went downstairs to grab him a new one and change my clothes. I hear Girly start crying–the usual, not an urgent, I’m in trouble cry–so I go upstairs. Goozle is standing there pointing at his sister and saying “gigcky ball, gigcky ball, eww!” I get to where the kids are to find that Goozle had pooped a bunch of “gigcky balls” all over the carpet and Girly had salamander crawled right through them. Girly was covered in poop; I picked her up and I was covered in poop. I plunked Goozle on the toilet, plunked Girly in the sink (which she hates) and managed to get everyone cleaned off.

We spent the next couple of hours rummage sale-ing.
Nothing a little yarn therapy can’t fix, right?
July pics 024
It’s Falk, a dk weight superwash wool, that I’m going to practice dye for the Hand-Dyed Yarn Swap. Check out the swap if you ever dyed yarn or want to. The first round is for sock yarn.
Speaking of sock yarn…
July pics 028
Yes, I’m knitting, not one, but two socks! And at the same time! It’s pretty fun. I learned how to do the magic loop method for this. The yarn is Lorna’s Laces Shepherd’s Sport that I got from Ingrid. It’s a lot of fun. And the owner of the yarn store informed us that there is a shipment of Koigu coming.  I’ve read rave reviews about it on the internet, so I’ll probably have to get some.  There’s another 2 socks at the same time class, too, so that’s another reason to get out of the house and away from the kids.

Entry filed under: family, knitting, stash, swaps.

Girly in a FO Chasing Children and Working Overtime

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. marti  |  July 14, 2007 at 4:00 am

    Very Cute kids!

    Reply
  • 2. lisa  |  July 14, 2007 at 4:07 am

    Hmm yeah, the days of being covered in kiddo shit…. can’t say I’m sorry to see them gone! It’ll be a hugely funny story to tell to their dates when they’re older!

    Reply
  • 3. drunken arborist  |  July 14, 2007 at 5:23 am

    and you thought your brothers were the dirty ones!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Anne  |  July 14, 2007 at 8:29 am

    Ooh I’m totally jealous. My sis is doing some socks with 2 knitted at once on Magic Loop – I have enough trouble with one still, so I’ll have to wait to attempt that. Awesome color on those too! they’re looking great!

    Reply
  • 5. mom  |  July 14, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    Magic Loops and magic poop!

    Reply
  • 6. Cassady  |  July 14, 2007 at 6:22 pm

    Oooo 2 at once!

    And LOL at the poopy days. Good times!

    Reply
  • 7. Lynn  |  July 14, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    And this is the reason I stopped at two!! LOL So totally get that!! In fact, I don’t think you’re truly a mom until you have to clean up poop OUTSIDE of a diaper!! LOL
    Great idea to go rummage saleing. And you got that at a yard sale??? WOW!! I never find anything cool like that at a yard sale!! Great find! And your socks look great!

    Reply
  • 8. kvvs spoiler  |  July 15, 2007 at 4:46 am

    i laughed and cringed at the same time reading the poop story… great looking socks – i haven’t mastered the magic loop yet. see? socks are fun, aren’t they?!

    Reply
  • 9. knitphomaniac  |  July 15, 2007 at 7:41 am

    I always knit two socks at once; if I only knit one at a time, the other is guaranteed not to get done. Nice work though, I love the colours!

    Reply
  • 10. Celena  |  July 16, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    Sounds like my house! Yay for getting away from the kids to go to a sock knitting class!

    Reply
  • 11. knittymama  |  July 18, 2007 at 3:33 am

    Oooohhh, you deserve a major reward for that one!!!

    Reply
  • 12. Abril  |  July 19, 2007 at 3:22 am

    That sock yarn is beautiful! I’m still trying to finish my first pair of socks 😦
    Poop…something to look forward to when I have kids.

    Reply
  • 13. Jessica  |  July 23, 2007 at 5:38 am

    Oh you poor thing! Makes me think of the time my daughter took off her diaper and smeared it all around her bedroom. *shudder*

    Reply
  • 14. kvvs spoiler  |  July 23, 2007 at 8:28 pm

    hope that the past week or so has been, well, uhm “cleaner”! we’ve added an extra stop to our virtual tour. i hope that it will make it extra special for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 62,882 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Feeds


