Spinning, Pricey Sweaters, Toddler Antics

July 4, 2007 at 10:01 am 7 comments

I did more spinning. When I started spinning, I was kind of disappointed at the results. Yeah, I know I have to start somewhere, but I want to spin yarn that I can use. This time I started out pretty good. I spun some wool/silk blend pretty evenly:
yarn 037
When I ran out of that, I spun some more of the pinkish llama fiber to ply with it. That’s where I run into trouble.
yarn 038

I ply like a 4 year old. Everything got all tangled up. Some of it turned out really nice.
yarn 042
But some of it ended up like this:
yarn 041
Anyone have any suggestions as to how to fix this?
I’m all out of wool and wool blends, but I have tons of llama.
yarn 040
I’m going to put some of it on etsy. If anyone is a spinner and would like to barter for llama fiber let me know in the contact form on the llama barter page.

I have some that are balls of roving approximately the size of a basketball. There is some vegetable matter in it. It all smells kind of garagey, but I found that it goes away after a nice hot soak with some dish soap.
I also went to the yarn store today to make sure I’m doing my argyle socks right. I am. They have a trunk show there from Hanne Falkenberg. At first I was not too exited. Sweaters in the middle of summer. But then we started trying them on. If you have ever read Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants, it was kind of like that. There were four of us trying them on–all different sizes, but those sweaters look good! She uses a lot of diagonal lines which are very slimming. I especially liked Plisse and Mermaid. The LYS owner explained that she only sells her patterns as kits to maintain their integrity–oh and they’re pricey. So pricey to me is $100-$150 which I could budget in and splurge a little. Pricey for Hanne Falkenberg is more like $230-$260. Um, that’s way out of my price range. So I won’t be knitting or wearing any Hanne Falkenberg designs. I will, however, check out the next 2 trunk shows. I also reserved some Panda Cotton sock yarn in the Mardi Gras colorway! Maybe I’ll knit socks after all…

And here’s what Goozle is up to.

yarn 039
And to the naked eye, this might just look like some toys on the entertainment center. It’s actually Goozle’s prep work. He found toys that look like they might fit into the VCR, so he could try them out all at once instead of trying one and then having to search around for another. Kid! I already had to take away 2 things the other day, because he tried to stick them in the VCR.

Entry filed under: family, knitting, spinning, stash.

A week’s worth Girly in a FO

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  July 4, 2007 at 7:36 pm

    i miss my boys being little like goozle – but i don’t miss having to lock up the electronics!

    Reply
  • 2. mom  |  July 4, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    Angry chicken has a clip about the dangerous book for boys, You have to get that for Goozle and N! It’s great! Can you use the mish-mash spun stuff with other orphan fibers to just make some funky stuff? Happy 4th!

    Reply
  • 3. Cookie  |  July 4, 2007 at 9:27 pm

    We once had to get our VCR fixed after one of ours got ahold of it. The repair man found broom straws stuck in it. Be glad Goozle isn’t that curious yet.

    Reply
  • 4. mom  |  July 5, 2007 at 4:38 am

    Vcr antics beat putting pins into electrical outlets like your cousin did!

    Reply
  • 5. Sharon  |  July 5, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    I liked Plisse but when I priced out a knit dress for the Princess once and it was close to $200 I was like forget it.

    Ah the prep work. Miss Sunshine gets ready for her “fix’n” but if hubby leaves a tool by accident she’ll take it, hide it and use it later for her work, LOL

    Reply
  • 6. lisa  |  July 5, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    Yeah, that’d be way out of my price range for a sweater too. There’d just be no justifying it! Is it time to put the VCR up high? Or is Goozle the kind of kid that will climb on top of the fridge to see what’s up there. Gotta give the kid credit for thinking ahead!

    Reply
  • 7. knittymama  |  July 6, 2007 at 10:31 pm

    Hee hee, glad I’m not alone. I ended up with bits like that too. Cut them out then just felt the ends together. The rest looks like a good start! Beginning spinning makes great potholders:-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 62,882 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Feeds


