I blame my parents

June 19, 2007 at 10:00 am 8 comments

I’ve been reading people’s blogs from the KVVS, and a lot of people are on vacation for real.  Someone (sorry there’s so many, I can’t remember who) said they would like to visit Montana.  That made me think of the road trip we took as kids out West.  People don’t like how I road trip, because I road trip like my parents: stop at random things and maybe find -something interesting to make the trip more exciting.  On this particular vacation, my dad decided we should head into Canada.  That’s where we found the Head-Smashed-In Museum.  It’s a museum about running buffalo off of cliffs for herd control, and one guy was standing at the bottom and got his head smashed in.

N wants to drive to Maine sometime, but I’d prefer to fly, because he does not like stopping at random places.  No stopping at any kind of head-smashing-buffalo museums of any kind!  And we would drive through Canada, which would make me want to stop all the time, because it’s another country.  I have no vacation days and I’m blowing all my extra money on yarn, so no vacations anyway!

N actually took some pics of me with Girly!
june 055
june 054

Entry filed under: family, swaps.

productive weekend evacuated

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mom  |  June 19, 2007 at 11:40 am

    G and I are going on a random finding vacation to Kentucky in Aug. See the caves (because ya have to have a theme!) do the riverboat of some sort, and try to not drown in the river with a kayak. We always find funny stuff and usually a great drink bargain! ha ha Bourbon is down there….hmmm. Talk of layoffs soon, I prob will miss the first cut, but I don’t want to make cheese again. Girlie looks like she is going to be a talker!

    Reply
  • 2. monnibo  |  June 19, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    Heey! I’ve been to the Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump… and the museum! Also, that’s how the natives used to hunt the buffalo… they’d get them all running, and actually it was believed a lot of early inukshuks were built to sort of “herd” the buffalo in the right direction — eventually off the cliff. But of course, people began to abuse this tactic.

    Just surfed on from KVVS as well actually. My dad was kinda like that on road trips too, although we also had set destinations. We stopped at a trilobite museum in Alberta too. It was all during the road trip to Banff. Did you guys eventually make it there?

    Reply
  • 3. lisa  |  June 20, 2007 at 3:45 am

    Yup, I knit at the gym, but only on the stationary bike. Since I go in my red crocs (which I ditch to ride) and with my knitting usually in a small basket, well, the geezer gang in the morning has taken to calling me red riding hood. … I think I vacation like you. Or at least I have the most fun when I do! But right now I can’t think of any fun things between here and there. About a dozen years ago I thought this would be a great museum, ‘the body parts museum’, where you could go for things like a ride out the nose in a slide of mucus or get squished by intestinal walls for peristalsis…or whatever! Then maybe 5 yrs ago I heard of the ‘museum of grossology’ in NJ. I don’t remember much about it, but sounds intriguing!

    Reply
  • 4. Laurie L.  |  June 20, 2007 at 8:34 am

    My husband and I vacation by trying to see almost everything. It’s usually planned out ahead so we know what’s out there as we go through areas. He’s an engineer and a little different about planning than most “normal” people. He also likes to take the lesser-traveled-roads, cross areas most don’t go so we see things and sites most tourists wouldn’t. We have had the best times and finds that way.

    With a wee one, a walk through a wooded area could be a vacation. I love how children look at life and environment around them with such awe while adults tend to not see anything because we are always in such a hurry. Enjoy!

    Reply
  • 5. lisa  |  June 21, 2007 at 6:20 am

    YUMMMMM the coffee is great! It isn’t as dark and oily as what I usually drink (the rooster roast, a french roast), but it is equally as good! Thank you!!!

    Reply
  • 6. Nancy  |  June 21, 2007 at 8:57 am

    your road trips sound like fun…I’ll volunteer to go with you and make all the stops you’d like! 🙂
    you and girlie look great! 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Sharon  |  June 27, 2007 at 3:44 am

    My hubby and I used to do a fly by the seat of our pants type of vacationing but now with the girlies we plan a bit more. Maybe when they are a bit older we will go back to a more laid back vacation and more of a “whatever” vacation. I sort of did that when I drove my sister to Florida. We stopped all over the place on the drive down. It was real fun!

    Reply
  • 8. Stacey  |  August 5, 2007 at 6:43 am

    Hmmm… I’m from Montana and I’ve never heard of this museum. Where’s it at?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 62,882 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Feeds


