productive weekend

June 18, 2007 at 10:52 am 6 comments

I was laid off this weekend.  I’m not unhappy about it.  I might be next week when I have a teeny paycheck, but right now, I’m completely ok.  Unfortunately, the more I don’t work, the less I want to work!  N helped some friends move.  We got the garage cleaned out.  I practiced my intarsia.  I started an argyle sock on size 0 needles.  And…I sewed.  I am a novice seamstress.  Everything is pretty Kindergarten looking.  I practice sewing diapers, because they’re just going to get pooped on anyway! 🙂

The first one is a pocket diaper for Goozle made out of N’s old t-shirt that he wasn’t about to give up.  I’m going to knit a matching soaker–maybe.

yarn 034
yarn 033

The other one is an all-in-one, which means it goes on like a regular disposable diaper, but instead of tossing it, you throw it in the wash. This one’s waterproof. I never sewed fold over elastic, before, so it was kind of tricky. I hope it fits Girly!
yarn 035
yarn 036

The kids spent the day at the inlaws house. That’s why I got so much sewing time! Goozle loves it there, because they have a big yard, and he could play bah-ball (basketball) all day long. When we got there, both kids were smiling and having a good time. It was nice to have some alone time with N, too.
Goozle’s substitute for a basketball when he’s chucked all the others into the kitchen:
june 059

And for the Virtual Vacation Swap, or KVVS as I see everyone is calling it, I’m in Wisconsin.

Entry filed under: family, knitting, sewing, swaps.

intarsia I blame my parents

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mom  |  June 18, 2007 at 11:21 am

    Good job B! ha ha, I like the big logo on the butt, and the polkadots. I don’t know what that intarsa is, can you show me a site or project? Nice to just have some real time, tell me what thats like? ha ha You should watch rummage sales for collections of spools of thread so you can match your projects if you want. Got to read about losing my mind now, love ya.

    Reply
  • 2. geckogrrl  |  June 18, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    Too bad to hear about your job but it’s great that you can pull out your needles and sewing machine and get things done. I really love the diapers and diaper cover — what a great idea! (The T-shirt one is really fun!)

    I’m with you on not wanting to work. When I quit my job two years ago, I found that there is so much more exciting things to do and that I’d rather work two p/t jobs than a lousy f/t one…

    Reply
  • 3. LEXIE  |  June 18, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    HI,
    I’m in Wisconsin too!!! I’m in Beloit. It’s nice to see that I’m not the only one reprosenting for Wisconsin.

    Reply
  • 4. ingrid  |  June 19, 2007 at 4:22 am

    I love the home sewn diapers. It’s a great idea actually and it looks like you’ve done a great job on them.
    I hope you don’t mind but I’ve tagged you for a birthday meme. Details are on my blog.

    Reply
  • 5. lisa  |  June 19, 2007 at 5:48 am

    Hey! I think those diapers look GREAT! Your package arrived today! I laughed about the microwave chocolate pkgs…they’ll definitely be appreciated some long afternoon at the office. And it is funny about that chocolate, I’d never had it before I sent it to you. I’m planning to grind up some of that coffee for tomorrow! I’ll blog about this tonight or tomorrow. Thanks again (oh, and you should put your name on the back of your cards, they are very sweet).

    Reply
  • 6. Lynn  |  June 20, 2007 at 2:28 am

    NICE soakers!!! I am a novice sewer as well, but never thought of making diapers until after Baby Girl didnt need them anymore.
    Found your blog thru KVVS!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 62,735 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Feeds


