Virtual Vacation Swap

June 11, 2007 at 10:07 am 3 comments

I’m way far behind on blogging.  I got my Coffee Swap package!  I’m munching on a treat right now!  I’m at work, though, and I don’t have my camera, so I have to post non-picture stuff.  I joined another swap: the Knitters Virtual Vacation SwapSharon is one of the hostesses. 

Virtual Vacation Swap Questionnaire. 

1. If you could visit any state in the US, which would it be and why?

Maine.  N went there on vacation, and he loved it.  He wants to live there someday, so I’d like to visit and see what I’m missing!

2. If you could visit any country in the world, other than your own, which would it be and why?

If it was just one country, then, Japan.  I was friends with the Japanese foreign exchange student in high school, and then I had three Japanese housemates when I studied abroad in Germany.  I used to “read” Japanese magazines.  I really hope I get there someday.  I could teach English there, too, because I have a TEFL certificate.

3. Have you ever driven across several states/providence/countries?

Yes, we did that a few times when we were kids.  We went out West twice and to Branson once. 

4. Have you ever visited someplace you consider exotic? Where was it?

No, not yet.

5. What was your favorite “travel” vacation? Why?

My favorite travel vacation was spring break while I was studying abroad in Germany.  I toured the country for a week by myself.  I spent 2 days in Trier, which is one of the coolest cities in the world, an afternoon in Hamburg, and 2 days in Rostock.  I think I started in Leipzig and ended in Berlin, my two other favorite German cities.  I was staying in Lutherstadt Wittenberg which is about halfway between them.  I had a lot of fun, but I want to take N and maybe the kids with me next time!

6. Have you ever played tourist in your own home city/state (if international, country)? Explain.

Yes!  When I still lived at home, we would always take “fake vacations”.  We’d go hit all the local touristy spots, stand in front of them, and take pictures!  It was a lot of fun.  I haven’t done that so much where I’m living now, because it’s not really a touristy area.  I have gone to some of the attractions in the neighboring cities: Leinenkugel’s brewery and Crystal Cave, for example. 

7. Are you a museum visitor, beach comer or an amusement seeker?

All of the above. 

8. What’s your favorite type of yarn?

I like soft yarn like merino.  Don’t tell the yarn snobs, but I’m really liking Lion Cotton Ease! 🙂

9. What’s your least favorite type of yarn?

Ribbon yarn
10. What items do you like to knit/crochet?

I like to knit baby clothes!  I like small projects, because I get bored with big ones, and they’re more expensive!

11. What do you pack, knit/crochet wise when you go on vacation?

Whatever I happen to be working on.  Last time it was a pair of baby pants and a dishcloth.

12. What other crafts do you do/would like to do other than Knit/Crochet?

I dabble in spinning and sewing.  When I find more time *hah* I’m going to learn how to quilt and make a Hawaiian quilt.

13. Are you allergic to anything? (Yarn wise or treat wise)

No

14. What is your favorite color? Least Favorite?

My favorite color is purple, but it’s more of a “looking at” color.  I really like greens and reds.  I don’t really have a least favorite color.  Beige, maybe?

15. Sweet or Savory (Treat not personality)?

both, but not too salty!

16. Anything else we are forgetting to ask that you think your partner desperately needs to know?

I’m trying to broaden my horizons as far as knitting and yarn goes.  I collect postcards!  I can’t believe I forgot to mention that for my other swaps.

Entry filed under: knitting, swaps.

No work, all play Catching up

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mom  |  June 11, 2007 at 11:58 am

    I still take fake vacations, usually with G. Mostly we make a point to try something new food wise (even in scary “slummin’ bars”), and the little ma and pa diners, (one had a sign saying unsupervised small children would be caught and served for dinner!) and always ask the locals what they like to eat, and any cool sites to see! It was funny to see Rachel Ray doing the same thing on her show. Mostly it’s fun to talk to the people who live wherever we happen to be! Remember the peacocks when we were with Linda? ha ha

    Reply
  • 2. Cookie  |  June 23, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    Could you see the smoke from the big explosion from your place yesterday?
    Dang! Wasn’t that something.
    My cleaning lady came in this morning, and told me there was a big explosion in Wisconsin, and they were evacuating people. (Of course, the story got blown out of proportion) She didn’t know where it was.
    I knew it wasn’t in Central Wis, because I had just talked to my mom, and she was ok.
    I remember the train derailment and gas leak in Weyawega about 15 years ago. They DID have to evacuate the whole town for about 3 weeks. We still lived in Wisconsin then.

    Reply
  • 3. Stacey  |  August 5, 2007 at 6:46 am

    I’m a self-proclaimed yarn snob, but when Michael’s got Cotton-ease I caught myself fondling it. I envision summer socks from it…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 62,882 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Feeds


