Healthy Wednesday

May 24, 2007 at 9:20 pm 10 comments

Yesterday was a very healthy day.  I joined a gym, and I had my complete assessment.  There were two interns there watching me struggle through situps and pushups.  I scored “elite” on the VO2 max test, though.  I get my workout program today.  Then, I found this interesting article about mental health and food.  Apparently most of the foods in my diet are “trigger” foods.  After anger management, I went to Target to get a coffee and a sandwich.  As soon as I got there, it started downpouring, and it got really windy.  Then they made an announcement that there was a tornado warning, and we all had to go to the middle of the store.  I felt really bad for the girl making the announcement.  I’m assuming she had to do it because she spoke Spanish, but she was so scared, she was crying.  The tornado wasn’t on our side of the county, so it wasn’t too bad.  The roof didn’t get torn off or anything. 

Last night I also did some knitting:
yarn 029

It’s going to be a two-toned shrug for Girly. It’s based off of the pictures I’ve seen on the internet out of the Fitted Knits book. I’m still debating which color to make the ribbing: grey or almond:
yarn 030
I’m really liking the Lion Cotton-ease. I think I’m going to make baby shower gifts out of it.

Entry filed under: health, knitting, stash.

Felted No work, all play

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. chiromom  |  May 24, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    Good for you about joining the gym! That’s a great step. The next step is making a commitment to going everyday – easier said than done. BTW, your knitting looks beautiful. I could never get even stitches!

    Reply
  • 2. Surviving  |  May 25, 2007 at 4:43 am

    We were at Sam’s Club when the sirens went off.

    Good luck with the gym. I hope it works for you!

    Reply
  • 3. Sharon  |  May 25, 2007 at 6:13 am

    Oh I have been meaning to try the newly revamped cotton ease by Lion Brand

    Reply
  • 4. mom  |  May 25, 2007 at 9:27 pm

    I like the cream. How do you schedual time for knitting? Will try to see if the sewing machine works, ha ha, hope it isn’t an expensive doorstop! love ya.

    Reply
  • 5. lisa  |  May 27, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    A tornado? In Wisconsin? Scary! I think the creme is girlier, but the gray is more elegant! (and maybe won’t show the dirt and then you can use the creme for other baby items). I found something for you out in Santa Fe!!!

    Reply
  • 6. phoenix  |  May 28, 2007 at 11:45 pm

    From the article you linked to:

    “Stressors highlighted included sugar (80%), caffeine (79%), alcohol (55%) and chocolate (53%).”

    So cutting these things out of my diet is supposed to REDUCE my stress? I want to see this so-called research.

    I agree with Lisa about the cream and the gray.

    Reply
  • 7. phoenix  |  May 28, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    Oh, and I’m so adopting the phrase “tylenol nap.”

    Reply
  • 8. myhobbyisyarn  |  May 29, 2007 at 11:59 am

    Phoenix-even the author of the study called it “highly subjective” but you can read it at: http://www.positivehealth.com/permit/Articles/Nutrition/geary56.htm

    I’m going to try one sleeve in cream and one in grey and see which I like better. It’s a fun little knit, so I won’t mind re-knitting it.

    Reply
  • 9. lisa  |  June 2, 2007 at 7:47 am

    I’ll try to get your pkg out tomorrow too! Might be on Monday…

    Reply
  • 10. mom  |  June 4, 2007 at 1:13 am

    We miss Dinatap naps too, grape flavored.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 63,031 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Feeds


