The 3 Pattern Rule

April 19, 2007 at 10:02 pm 8 comments

I bought a knitting magazine.  It’s Knitter’s.  Normally, I don’t buy knitting magazines, because I’m not that impressed.  I have a 3 pattern rule: if I like at least 3 (even if I never plan to knit them) then I’ll buy the magazine.  The top on the cover is really ugly.  It looks like a drunk seaming project.  However, there are 3 lace tops that I like: Salvia, Campanula, Loden Mist.  There is also a tutorial on how to knit filet stitch to look like crochet.  Great for me, since I have a hard time with crocheting.  Something about counting and turning the corners.  I always add or lose stitches and it gets all wavy.

I just have to bind off and find a ribbon for the lacy thong, and it will be done.  I’m kind of discouraged about girly’s capris, because she had a growth spurt.  She’s now wearing 6-9 mo. clothes.  She has a 6 mo. outfit on today, and it’s high water on her.  A couple friends are having babies, so hopefully someone will have a girl.  Maybe they’ll fit–if I knit fast!

Entry filed under: knitting.

Broadening my Horizons Thanks mom!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. elanknits  |  April 19, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    Love the Loden Mist & I actually think I’d like the cover tank if it was knit in 1 colour.

    Reply
  • 2. Emilee  |  April 20, 2007 at 3:19 am

    Oh GAWD, that top on the cover has me stunned, that’s for sure.

    Those other three are really pretty though.

    Reply
  • 3. K  |  April 20, 2007 at 4:54 am

    I like the fish fillet one, thanks cool. I got girly some cute green cords for fall, they have some emboridery on the bottom of the legs

    Reply
  • 4. mom  |  April 20, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    I think the Loden Mist is really delicate and pretty. Have you tried lace yet?
    Also, could you spin a whole sheep’s worth of wool? Saw that you can rent a sheep and they send you (maybe just some?) of that particular sheep’s wool coat when they shear for the year. You wouldn’t have to put it in your back yard then….it was in NY, could you get a 4-H kid to do that if you sponsored one? Could always have another baby, they are all so cute and spunky!!!! Just wondering while wondering on my rounds, mom

    Reply
  • 5. Sharon  |  April 21, 2007 at 8:38 am

    I love your rule of thumb before getting a knitting magazine. I so have to remember that since I am such an impulse buyer and usually buy because I like the pictures. I forget I have to look at the patterns too and realize that when it is too late and I am already home with the thing.

    BTW, I posted the cloth pattern on my blog. I can’t remember where the original came from but, I have altered it so many times, changed the cast on, the increases etc., I think I can now lay claim to it 😉 Enjoy!

    Reply
  • 6. allena  |  April 23, 2007 at 1:17 am

    OMG that cover sweater is horrid! that rule you have is the same for me!

    Reply
  • 7. mom  |  April 23, 2007 at 2:39 am

    Hi B, the llama hair (fur?) is packed in the car to the gills! Kinda weird’in me out, we will see if K makes the trip, then 1/2 llama will be a my house, boys helped pack it in! lol have some sites with patterns on it, but you can show me how to send the ideas your way, see ya tomarrow!

    Reply
  • 8. mom  |  April 25, 2007 at 2:20 am

    B have you recovered yet? lol The pattern I told you about is Wiskers and Pawprint socks on keyboard biologist. Look really squooshy. also if you ever get to this kind of knitting try http://www.nordicfiberarts.com/piskits.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 63,031 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Feeds


